Young Crowd

Young people investigate the safety and disaster preparedness of their environment with the help of an app.

Pilot project within the initiative Responsible Science

youth, safety, disaster

The project overview

Area of Science: Social Sciences
Location: independent of location
Used Devices: with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: Smartphone or computer with internet access
Activities of citizen scientists: sharing ideas, observing, measuring, photographing, mapping, analysing
Suitable for: Youngsters
Project duration: 01.12.2016 - 30.11.2017
Time to join in: 19.04.2017 - 30.09.2017
Expenditure of time: Online registration: about 15 min; performing tasks: about 15 min up to 1 hour, depending on the task, tasks can be done during daily routines; answering questionnaires: about 15 min

Project objective

In case of disaster and crisis, communication with community members is particularly important. In this context, mobile phone apps provide new possibilities for volunteers' management in case of emergency, but also in enlisting and activating helpers or gathering information.

The aim of the project “Young Crowd” is to test such an app for its usability. Citizen scientists explore the safety of their environment and disaster preparedness with the help of the app and learn more about the existing resources for disaster and crisis management in their surrounding. The collected data is then used to plan further experiments and do general research about crisis preparedness. By using the app and recording their experiences, citizen scientists contribute to its further development.

Implementation of Responsible Science criteria

Inclusivity of research approach
Citizen scientists contribute to achieve the project's objectives by collecting data for research in disaster and crisis management. While taking part they become more aware of these relevant topics. Furthermore, citizen scientists use the developed app and test it. Their contribution becomes the most important part of the project.

Openness of research process
On the project's blog citizen scientists can read about the progress and the results, which are published online together with the participants' contributions. Through data collection citizen scientists are directly involved in the research process. The gathered data is not only used by the Red Cross, but is also provided to citizen scientists, who are participating together with their teachers.

Adaptivity of project management
Citizen scientists will be accompanied throughout the research process by a team of experts in the field of disaster and crisis management, evaluation and software engineering. This allows them to gather collaborative experience and to include their feedback and findings into the progressing project work.

Anticipation of requirements and effects
Not only is awareness of disaster and risk management raised among youngsters, but citizen scientists also test the mobile app for its usability in emergency cases. They contribute to the implementation of a nationwide crowd-tasking system, which via app invokes volunteers to help in case of emergency. The project contributes to achieving the Sustainable Development Goal 3d. It aims at strengthening the national measures taken by the government of Austria in the areas of disaster preparedness, early warning and risk reduction while considering national and global health risks.

How to participate?

Teachers and their students but also young people (14+) are invited to participate in this project. Citizen scientists perfom small tasks posed by their teachers or the Red Cross via app. Depending on the tasks, participants answer questions, take photos or tag places on maps. The collected data is then analysed by the citizen scientists themselves. Based on the outcomes they develop further research questions and generate new tasks in the app.

What happens to the contributions of citizen scientists?

The collected data is analysed by experts and contributes to establish a nationwide overview of disaster preparedness from the perspective of citizen scientists, focusing on their schools and their environment. Furthermore, the data is used for the examination of stability and usability of the tested mobile app. Citizen scientists contribute to the installation of a nationwide crowd-tasking system, which activates volunteers in case of emergency by mobile phone app.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Juliane Spreitzer BSc
contact@youngcrowd.at

Project website: https://www.youngcrowd.at

Share this Page

Newsletter

Young Crowd

Jugendliche erforschen ihre Umwelt zu den Themen Sicherheit und Katastrophenvorsorge mithilfe einer App.

Pilotprojekt im Rahmen der Initiative Responsible Science

Jugend, Sicherheit, Katastrophen

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Sozialwissenschaften
Ort: nicht ortsgebunden
Arbeitsweise: mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: Smartphone oder Computer mit Internetzugang
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: Idee einbringen, beobachten, messen, fotografieren, kartieren, analysieren
Zielgruppe: Jugendliche
Projektlaufzeit: 01.12.2016 - 30.11.2017
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 19.04.2017 - 30.09.2017
Zeitaufwand zum Mitforschen: Anmeldung Onlineportal: ca. 15 Min.; Tasks ausführen: 15 Min. bis 1 Stunde pro Task, abhängig von der Aufgabenstellung, Tasks können in Alltag eingebaut werden (zum Beispiel am Schulweg); Fragebogen ausfüllen: ca. 15 Min.

Projektziel

Im Krisen- und Katastrophenfall ist eine gute Kommunikation mit der Bevölkerung wichtig. Apps bieten hier neue Möglichkeiten, wenn es darum geht, im Ernstfall Freiwillige anzuwerben bzw. zu aktivieren oder Informationen weiterzugeben.

Ziel des Projektes „Young Crowd“ ist es, eine solche App bezüglich ihrer Einsatzfähigkeit zu testen. Ausgehend von kleinen Tasks erforschen Citizen Scientists mithilfe dieser App ihre Umwelt zu relevanten Themen von Sicherheit und Katastrophenvorsorge. Sie erweitern ihr Wissen und entdecken die vorhandenen Ressourcen der Katastrophenvorsorge in der eigenen Umwelt. Das von ihnen erhobene Datenmaterial dient einerseits der Planung weiterer Experimente und andererseits der allgemeinen Forschung in der Krisenvorsorge. Citizen Scientists sammeln zusätzlich Daten über die Funktionsweise und evt. auftretende Fehler der App und unterstützen so dessen letzte Entwicklungsschritte.

Umsetzung der Responsible Science-Kriterien


Inklusivität des Forschungsansatzes

Die Umsetzung des Projekts ist eng an die Zusammenarbeit mit Citizen Scientists geknüpft. Diese leisten durch ihre Datenerhebung einen Beitrag zur allgemeinen Forschung in der Krisenvorsorge und entwickeln dabei ein neues Bewusstsein für Themen der Sicherheit und Katastrophenvorsorge. Weiters verwenden Citizen Scientists die entwickelte Handy-App und melden ihre Erfahrungen mit dieser zurück. So wird ihre Forschungstätigkeit zum Mittelpunkt des Projekts.

Offenheit des Forschungsprozesses
Das Projekt wird mit einem Blog auf der Projekthomepage begleitet. Auf diesem können sich Citizen Scientists über den Fortschritt des Projekts informieren. Die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts und die Beiträge der Citizen Scientists werden hier veröffentlicht. Teilnehmende sind durch die Datenerhebung direkt in den Forschungsprozess involviert. Die erhobenen Daten stehen dabei im Sinne von Open Data nicht nur dem Roten Kreuz zur Verfügung, sondern auch den Mitwirkenden, die mit ihren Lehrer/innen teilnehmen.

Adaptivität der Projektsteuerung
Citizen Scientists werden im Projekt bei ihren Datenerhebungen von einem Expert/innen-Team aus den Bereich Krisen- und Katastrophenmanagement sowie umsetzenden Techniker/innen und evaluierenden Wissenschaftler/innen begleitet. So werden Kooperationserfahrungen ermöglicht und Rückmeldungen im Sinne einer offenen Wissenschaft laufend in die weitere Arbeitsplanung einbezogen.

Antizipation von Anforderungen und Wirkungen
Unter Jugendlichen wird das Bewusstsein für Krisen- und Katastrophenvorsorge geschaffen sowie eine Handy-App auf ihre Einsetzbarkeit im Katastrophenfall getestet. Citizen Scientists leisten einen Beitrag zum Aufbau eines österreichweiten Crowd-Tasking-Systems, welches in Krisenfällen Freiwillige mittels App zur Hilfeleistung aufruft. Das Projekt leistet mithilfe der Citizen Scientists einen Beitrag zur Erreichung des Sustainable Development Goals 3d. Bei diesen geht es darum, die österreichweite Vorsorge in den Bereichen Frühwarnung, Risikominderung und Management nationaler und globaler Gesundheitsrisiken zu stärken.

Wie kann man mitforschen?

Das Projekt richtet sich zum einen an Lehrpersonen und ihre Schulklassen und zum anderen an interessierte Jugendliche (14+). Citizen Scientists bekommen von ihren Lehrerinnen und Lehrern oder vom Roten Kreuz Tasks zu den Themen Sicherheit und Katastrophenvorsorge auf ihre Handys geschickt. Je nach Fragestellung werden in der Handy-App Fragen beantwortet, Fotos gemacht oder Orte auf Karten eingetragen. Die erhobenen Daten werden dann von Citizen Scientists ausgewertet. Basierend auf den Ergebnissen können weiterführende Fragestellungen erarbeitet und neue Tasks erstellt werden.

Was passiert mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists?

Die erhobenen Daten werden von Expert/innen ausgewertet und liefern so einen österreichweiten Überblick über Maßnahmen zur Sicherheitsvorsorge in den verschiedenen Bundesländern aus der Perspektive der Citizen Scientists. Besonders im Fokus stehen dabei Schulen und die nähere Umgebung der Teilnehmenden. Weiters dienen die Daten der Untersuchung der Stabilität und Benutzerfreundlichkeit der App. Citizen Scientists leisten so einen Beitrag zum Aufbau eines österreichweiten Crowd-Tasking Systems, welches Freiwillige in Krisenfällen mittels App zur Hilfeleistung aufruft.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Juliane Spreitzer BSc
contact@youngcrowd.at

Projektwebseite: https://www.youngcrowd.at

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter