YAPES

Teenagers were invited to collect and share their daily political experiences.

politics, youth, everyday experiences

The project overview

Area of Science: Social Sciences
Location: independent of location
Used Devices: with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: Smartphone with Whatsapp
Activities of citizen scientists: sharing ideas, observing, collecting, photographing
Suitable for: Youngsters and adults
Project duration: 01.12.2014 - 30.06.2016
Time to join in: 01.10.2015 - 31.10.2015

Project objective

Young people’s motivation to become involved with politics and political issues has decreased constantly over the past years. At the same time young people have switched from traditional media sources to new online sources to receive political information. As social networks allow for personalising information feeds, it has become increasingly difficult to investigate how young people are being confronted with political issues and actors throughout their daily lives. Hence, in YAPES young people collected their own data on how, where and through which sources they were confronted with politics and shared this information with the researchers. These young citizen scientists improved their political monitoring skills and collected data that contributed to academic research.

How did citizen scientists participate?

Interested young people were invited to support the research process by participating as citizen scientists, namely voluntary researchers. Using the mobile app Whatsapp participants collected their daily political experiences. Whatever they found politically interesting could be easily photographed, documented and commented. The gathered data gave valuable insights into what issues young people are attracted to and how they want to be addressed by political news and communication. Thus, following the basic idea of citizen science, young people significantly contributed as active observers to scientific data gathering.

What happened to the contributions of citizen scientists?

Interim results and other information were posted regularly on the project’s website and on Facebook, where young people were also invited to actively participate in discussions. Furthermore, on the website they can find results of other FacePolitics projects, e.g. group discussions with pupils and an analysis of the Facebook profiles of Austrian politicians. The final results of YAPES were scientifically evaluated and together with the results of the other projects were then discussed in the project blog.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Share this Page

Newsletter

YAPES

Jugendliche waren eingeladen, ihre politischen Erfahrungen im Alltag zu sammeln.

Politik, Jugendliche, Alltagserfahrungen

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Sozialwissenschaften
Ort: orstunabhängig
Arbeitsweise: mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: Smartphone mit Whatsapp
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: Idee einbringen, beobachten, sammeln, fotografieren
Zielgruppe: Jugendliche und Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 01.12.2014 - 30.09.2017
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 01.10.2015 - 31.10.2015

Projektziel

Das Interesse von Jugendlichen an der Politik und der Teilnahme am politischen Prozess ist in den letzten Jahren laufend gesunken. Gleichzeitig sind Jugendliche online hoch aktiv. Rund die Hälfte der jungen Facebook-Nutzenden konsumiert politische Nachrichten über das Netzwerk. Neben traditionellen Medien folgen sie dort Parteien und NGOs und schaffen so ihren personalisierten Newsfeed. Für die Wissenschaft wird es daher immer schwieriger zu erfassen, wie, wo und über welche Quellen Jugendliche mit Politik konfrontiert werden. Im Projekt YAPES gingen deshalb Jugendliche selbst dieser Frage nach, schärften dabei ihren politischen Beobachtungssinn und leisteten einen erheblichen Beitrag zur wissenschaftlichen Datenerhebung.

Wie konnte man mitforschen?

Interessierte Jugendliche waren eingeladen, täglich ihre politischen Erfahrungen zu sammeln und diese über E-Mail oder WhatsApp an das Forschungsteam zu senden. Alles, was für sie politisch interessant und relevant war, konnte schnell und einfach fotografiert, dokumentiert und kommentiert werden. Dadurch wurde ermittelt, welche politischen Themen Jugendliche im Alltag ansprechen und wie sie von der Politik erreicht werden.

Was passierte mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists?

Zwischenergebnisse und aktuelle Infos wurden laufend auf dem Blog des Projekts facepolitics.wordpress.com und der Facebook-Seite https://www.facebook.com/facepolitics gepostet. Damit wurden Jugendliche auch aktiv zur Diskussion eingeladen. Auf dem Blog finden sich Ergebnisse anderer FacePolitics-Projekte, etwa von Gruppendiskussionen mit Schülerinnen und Schülern und einer Analyse der Facebook-Profile österreichischer Politikerinnen und Politiker. Die Ergebnisse von YAPES wurden zum Schluss wissenschaftlich ausgewertet und gemeinsam mit den Ergebnissen der anderen Projekte im Blog diskutiert.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter