Wasser schafft

The project "Wasser schafft" ("Water can") analysed the effects of nutrient loadings and stream morphology on the self-purification capacity of streams.

water, sampling, nutrient loadings

The project overview

Area of Science: Natural Sciences
Location: location independent
Used Devices: without PC/Mobile, with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: computer with internet access or smartphone, basic equipment for water analyses, bigger campaigns for schools can be supported in laboratory work
Activities of citizen scientists: observing, measuring, mapping
Suitable for: Youngsters and adults
Project duration: 01.01.2015 - 30.09.2017
Time to join in: 01.06.2015 - 31.05.2017
Expenditure of time: depending on the number of sampling places and parameters between 1 and 3 (school) days, about 6 hours per day

Project objective

Nutrient inputs from the terrestrial surroundings affect stream ecosystems and impair their natural self-purification capacity. Whether and how well a stream can compensate nutrient loadings largely depends on the stream morphology. To date, only few studies have investigated the effects of stream morphology on the water and sediment quality of impacted streams. How does the restoration of a riparian forest buffer affect the water quality? Which morphological reaches show the highest self-purification capacity? In the project, these questions were investigated  together with citizen scientists in order to establish a sound base for a sustainable management of multiple impacted streams in intensively used regions in Austria.

How can citizen scientists participate?

Participants were able to download a guideline and working protocols from the project homepage which dealt with the investigations in the field, the sampling, the chemical analyses, and the data analyses. Basic equipment for water analyses was beneficial, but not absolutely essential. Larger campaigns of schools were supported in the laboratory work. The collected data was entered into a prepared excel-sheet and sent via e-mail to the WasserCluster Lunz. The WasserCluster Lunz dealt with the data survey, storage and analysis.

From September 1st, 2016 until May 31st, 2017 citizen scientists were invitited to participate in a competition. More information can be found HERE.

What happens to the contributions of citizen scientists?

Collected data was stored in a data base and analysed as soon as a sufficient amount of data was available. The analyses focused on two aspects: data with a temporal resolution were analysed as to daily or seasonal variations in water quality within single streams, in order to optimize monitoring programs. Data with spatial resolution were investigated regarding effects of stream morphology, in specific stream restorations, on the water quality, in order to optimize restoration projects.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Mag. Dr. Gabriele Weigelhofer
gabriele.weigelhofer@wcl.ac.at

Mag. Eva-Maria Pölz
eva-maria.poelz@wcl.ac.at

Share this Page

Newsletter

Wasser schafft

Dieses Projekt untersuchte die Wirkung von Nährstoffbelastungen und Gewässerregulierungen auf die Effizienz und die Nachhaltigkeit der Selbstreinigungskapazität von Bächen.

Wasser, Messung, Nährstoffbelastung

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Naturwissenschaften
Ort: ortsunabhängig
Arbeitsweise: ohne PC/Handy, mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: Computer mit Internet oder Smartphone; Basislaborausrüstung für wasserchemische Analysen (Test-Kits für Wasserchemie); größere Kampagnen von Schulen können labortechnisch unterstützt werden
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: beobachten, messen, kartieren
Zielgruppe: Jugendliche und Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 01.01.2015 - 30.09.2017
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 01.06.2015 - 31.05.2017
Zeitaufwand zum Mitforschen: je nach Anzahl der Probenstellen und Parameter zwischen 1 und 3 (Schul-)Tagen, ca. 6 h pro Tag

Projektziel

Nährstoffeinträge aus der Umgebung belasten Bäche und verringern deren natürliche Selbstreinigungskraft. Ob und wie gut ein Bach stoffliche Belastungen kompensieren kann, hängt zu einem Großteil von der Gewässergestalt ab. Bis heute gibt es nur wenige Studien darüber, wie sich Veränderungen in der Gewässergestalt auf die Wasser- und Sedimentqualität von belasteten Bächen auswirkt. Was bringt die Restrukturierung eines Ufergehölzsaumes für die Wasserqualität? Welche Gewässerstrecken weisen die höchste Selbstreinigung auf? Ziel des Projekts war es, Grundlagen für Österreich zu schaffen, um Vorschläge für das Management von mehrfach belasteten Bächen in intensiv genutzten Gebieten auszuarbeiten.

Wie kann man mitforschen?

Teilnehmende bekamen auf der Projekthomepage einen Leitfaden und Protokolle für die Aufnahme der Freilanddaten, Entnahme der Wasserproben, wasserchemischen Analysen und Datenanalyse zur Verfügung gestellt. Eine Basislaborausrüstung für wasserchemische Analysen ist günstig, aber nicht unbedingt erforderlich. Größere Kampagnen von Schulen wurden labortechnisch unterstützt. Die wurden werden in Form eines auf der Homepage zur Verfügung gestellten Excel-Datenblatts elektronisch an den WasserCluster gesendet. Dieser übernahm die Überprüfung, Speicherung und Analyse aller Daten.

Wer dem Projekt zwischen 1. September 2016 und 31. Mai 2017 Daten schickte, nahm zudem an einer großen Verlosung teil.

Was passiert mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists?

Die Daten wurden in einer Datenbank gesammelt und bei einer ausreichenden Datenmenge analysiert. Die Auswertung konzentrierte sich auf zwei Aspekte: Bei Daten mit einer zeitlichen Auflösung wurde untersucht, wie die Wasserqualität tages- bzw. jahreszeitliche Veränderungen unterworfen ist. Damit können Monitoringprogramme besser an die jeweiligen Bedingungen angepasst werden. Bei Daten mit einer räumlichen Auflösung wurde untersucht, wie sich Veränderungen der Gewässergestalt, insbesondere bei Restrukturierungen, auf die Wasserqualität auswirken, da dies Auswirkungen auf Restrukturierungsprogramme hat.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Mag. Dr. Gabriele Weigelhofer
gabriele.weigelhofer@wcl.ac.at

Mag. Eva-Maria Pölz
eva-maria.poelz@wcl.ac.at

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter