QuakeWatch Austria

Description and quantitative observations of the impact of earthquakes via a smartphone app and easy to use low-cost seismic sensors.

earthquakes, Austria, sensors, app

The project overview

Area of Science: Natural Sciences
Location: Austria
Used Devices: without PC/Mobile, with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: Smartphone
Activities of citizen scientists: observing, photographing
Suitable for: Youngsters and adults
Project duration: 01.12.2014 - 30.06.2017
Time to join in: 01.10.2016 - 30.06.2017
Expenditure of time: per sensed earthquake approx. 30 seconds for app, due to automatic data transfer no additional effort for operating the sensors

Project objective

The project wanted to accomplish an effective and precise contribution to the understanding of earthquakes – regarding effects on surface and their causes in Austria. "QuakeWatch Austria" is an extension of the Sparkling Science project "Schools & Quakes" and orientates itself on citizen science initiatives. The project utilises the given infrastructure of the existing network of "Schools & Quakes" comprising three higher technical schools (TGM, HTL Mödling and HTL Wiener Neustadt). The Sparkling Science project "Schools & Quakes" concentrates on understanding the seismic activity in the Vienna Basin and the Mürz Valley in Styria.

How did citizen scientists participate?

All three higher technical schools (TGM, HTL Mödling and HTL Wiener Neustadt) developed the necessary tools – these were low-cost sensors and an app for smartphones. The latter was used by the public to assist scientists in collecting macro-seismic data.

What happened to the contributions of citizen scientists?

Contributions by citizen scientists, which arrive at the ZAMG via the app "QuakeWatch Austria" are used to improve the knowledge about the effects of earthquakes and are utilised for research by the Austrian Seismological Service at the ZAMG. The app will be in operation from October 2016 onwards and can be used by everybody.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Univ.-Doz. Dr.phil. Wolfgang Lenhardt
wolfgang.lenhardt@zamg.ac.at

Share this Page

Newsletter

QuakeWatch Austria

Das Projekziel war, eine Beschreibung und quantitative Erfassung von Erdbebenauswirkungen via App und einfach zu bedienender low-cost Sensoren vorzunehmen. 

Erdbeben, Österreich, Sensoren, App

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Naturwissenschaften
Ort: Österreich
Arbeitsweise: ohne PC/Handy, mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: Smartphone
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: beobachten, fotografieren
Zielgruppe: Jugendliche und Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 01.12.2014 - 30.06.2017
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 01.10.2016 - 30.06.2017
Zeitaufwand zum Mitforschen: Pro gefühltem Erdbeben ca. 30 Sekunden für App; aufgrund automatischer Datenübertragung kein Aufwand für Betrieb von Sensoren

Projektziel

Ziel war die raschere und präzisere Erfassung von Erdbeben-Wahrnehmungen und -Wirkungen in Österreich. "QuakeWatch Austria" stellt eine Erweiterung des Sparkling Science-Projektes "Schools & Quakes" in Richtung Citizen Science dar. Dabei bediente sich das Projekt der Infrastruktur und des bestehenden Netzwerkes von Schools & Quakes und der drei Höheren Technischen Lehranstalten (TGM, HTL Mödling und HTL Wiener Neustadt). Das Sparkling Science-Projekt konzentrierte sich auf die vertiefte Erforschung der Bebentätigkeit in der Bebenzone Mürztal - Wiener Becken.

Wie konnte man mitforschen?

Drei Höhere Technische Lehranstalten entwickelten bis Herbst 2016 kostengünstige Sensoren und eine Smartphone-App zur Erfassung der Fühlbarkeitsmeldungen aus der Bevölkerung, in Anlehnung an das Erdbebenwahrnehmungsformular auf der Homepage der ZAMG (www.zamg.ac.at/cms/de/aktuell/erdbeben).

Was passierte mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists?

Die Beiträge, die über die App "QuakeWatch Austria" der ZAMG zur Verfügung gestellt wurden, dienten der verbesserten Beschreibung und Analyse der Auswirkungen des jeweiligen Erdbebens durch den Österreichischen Erdbebendienst. Die Daten wurden an der ZAMG gemeinsam mit allen anderen Einsendungen ausgewertet, und der Bevölkerung laufend via App und die Webseite der ZAMG zur Verfügung gestellt.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Univ.-Doz. Dr.phil. Wolfgang Lenhardt
wolfgang.lenhardt@zamg.ac.at

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter