IsoPROTECT Austria

The aim of the project is the systematic creation of a terrestrial and aquatic isotopic landscape of Austria for determining the origin of regionally produced food.

food, origin, soil

The project overview

Area of Science: Natural Sciences
Location: Austria
Used Devices: without PC/Mobile, with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: Computer with internet or smartphone; basic equipment for sampling (e.g. container), preparation (e.g. sieves) and simple soil chemical analysis (e.g. pH measurement) will be provided
Activities of citizen scientists: observing, measuring, analysing, other activities
Suitable for: Youngsters and adults
Project duration: 01.07.2016 - 31.12.2018
Time to join in: 01.09.2016 - 31.12.2018
Expenditure of time: 5 min for registration; 1-3 times about 3h for sample preparation and measurement or development of chemical methods and sending samples to Tulln

Project objective

The Citizen Science project "IsoPROTECT: Protecting regional food production in Austria with isotope and multielement fingerprints" was an extension of the Sparkling Science project CSI: TRACE your FOOD! and was carried out by the VIRIS Laboratory, Department of Chemistry, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna. The primary goal of the project was the systematic extension of the data set for the production of an isoscape of Austria, which serves the proof of origin of local regionally produced food. In addition, the goal was to make the data accessible to a wider public through an online database.

The systematic extension of the 87Sr/86Sr isotope map for soils has been successfully implemented through the participation of 8 food producers and 7 schools. The producers took part in the sampling and provided important additional information on production conditions (e.g. fertilization, liming). Thus, soil samples were collected and further processed from a total of 27 different sites. At schools, the soil samples were dried, sieved, and the parameters pH value and Ca concentration in water extracts were determined. This was followed by a digital transmission of the field measurement data to the VIRIS laboratory via an online form, as well as the delivery of the dried and sieved soil samples for the further mass spectrometric analyzes of the 87Sr/86Sr isotope ratio and the multielement pattern to the VIRIS laboratory. The obtained results showed that all soil samples could be assigned to their origin by 100% using the 87Sr/86Sr isotope ratio together with the concentrations of Mn, Cu, Zn, Rb and Ba.

Individual pupils and teachers participated in the project as part of three school theses and thus contributed significantly to the evaluation and presentation of the data. For example the evaluation of the significance of the field determination of the Ca concentration in comparison to the data obtained in the laboratory of a selected set of samples was conducted as part of a diploma thesis at the HTL Dornbirn. Furthermore, due to the interest of a pupil of the Franziskaner Gymnasium Hall in Tyrol, a cooperation with a developer and operator of Aquaponic plants was started and comprehensive analyzes of the chemical composition of the water were conducted. This was used as a topic for another school thesis. Moreover, this was the first time that the project approached the topic of determining the origin of tomatoes cultivated on liquid media.

With the help of citizen scientists the isotope map for soils was extended. Due to the interest of companies and individual students, new topics and research questions were also included in the project. For example, an optimized measurement method was developed for varying concentrations of macro and microelements in different types of vegetables. The reason for this was the special interest of the producer of Sauwald potatoes on the multi-element fingerprint, since e.g. these are advertised with special potassium content; in addition Styrian seed beans and Lavanttaler asparagus were analyzed in more detail for the multielement pattern. This resulted in the idea of ​​a future systematic "food profiling" as additional information provided by the producers to their customers in order to convey the special composition and quality of a food.

The data obtained have been and will continue to be presented at conferences and published in scientific publications.

The sustainability of the project was made possible by the successful implementation of the IsoPROTECT approach in the newly founded K1 center "FFoQSI" ("Feed and Food Quality Safety and Innovation", https://www.ffoqsi.at/) in a central strategic area for the "Determination of origin and authenticity of food and feed".

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Prof. DI Dr. Thomas Prohaska
thomas.prohaska@boku.ac.at

DI Dr. Andreas Zitek
andreas.zitek@boku.ac.at

Project website: http://isoprotect.boku.ac.at/

Share this Page

Newsletter

IsoPROTECT Austria

Ziel des Projekts war die Erstellung einer Boden- und Wasserisotopenlandkarte Österreichs, mit der die Herkunft regionaler Lebensmittel überprüft werden kann.

Nahrungsmittel, Herkunft, Boden

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Naturwissenschaften
Ort: Österreich
Arbeitsweise: ohne PC/Handy, mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: Computer mit Internet oder Smartphone; Basisausrüstung für Probenahme (z.B. Behälter), -vorbereitung (z.B. Siebe) und einfache bodenchemische Analysen (z.B. pH-Wert Messung) wird zur Verfügung gestellt
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: beobachten, messen, analysieren, sonstiges
Zielgruppe: Jugendliche und Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 01.07.2016 - 31.12.2018
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 01.09.2016 - 31.12.2018
Zeitaufwand zum Mitforschen: 5 Min. für Online-Anmeldung; 1-3 Mal ca. 3 h für Probenaufbereitung und Messung bzw. chemische Methodenentwicklung und Verschicken der Proben nach Tulln

Projektziel

Das Citizen Science Projekt „IsoPROTECT: Schutz regionaler Nahrungsmittelproduktion in Österreich durch Isotopen- und Multielementfingerabdrücke“ stellte eine Erweiterung des Sparkling Science Projektes CSI: TRACE your FOOD! dar, und wurde vom VIRIS Labor, Department für Chemie, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, durchgeführt. Das vorrangige Ziel des Projektes war die systematische Erweiterung des Datensatzes zur Erstellung einer Isotopenlandkarte Österreichs, die dem Herkunftsnachweis heimischer regional produzierter Lebensmittel dient. Zusätzlich war es das Ziel die Daten im Rahmen einer Online-Datenbank einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zugängig zu machen.

Wie konnte man mitforschen?

Die systematische Erweiterung der 87Sr/86Sr Isotopenlandkarte für Böden konnte durch die Beteiligung von acht Betrieben und sieben Schulen erfolgreich umgesetzt werden. Die Produzentinnen und Produzenten beteiligten sich an der Probennahme und stellten wichtige Zusatzinformationen zur Bearbeitungsform der Äcker (z. B. Düngung, Kalkung) zur Verfügung. So wurden insgesamt an 27 unterschiedlichen Standorten Bodenproben genommen. An den Schulen wurden die Bodenproben getrocknet, gesiebt, und die Kenngrößen pH-Wert und Ca-Konzentration in Wasserextrakten ermittelt. Danach erfolgte eine digitale Übermittlung der Feldmessdaten an das VIRIS Labor über ein Online Formular, sowie die Zusendung der getrockneten und gesiebten Bodenproben für die weiteren massenspektrometrischen Analysen des 87Sr/86Sr Isotopenverhältnisses und des Multielementmusters an das VIRIS Labor. Die gewonnenen Ergebnisse zeigten, dass sich alle Bodenproben anhand des 87Sr/86Sr Isotopenverhältnisses gemeinsam mit den Konzentrationen von Mn, Cu, Zn, Rb und Ba ihrer Herkunft nach zu 100 % zuordnen ließen.

Einzelne Schülerinnen und Schüler sowie Lehrpersonen beteiligten sich im Rahmen von drei vorwissenschaftlichen Abschlussarbeiten (VWA) und trugen so wesentlich zur Auswertung und Darstellung der Daten bei. So erfolgte z.B. die Bewertung der Aussagekraft der Feldbestimmung der Ca-Konzentration im Vergleich zu den im Labor gewonnenen Daten anhand ausgewählter Daten im Rahmen einer Diplomarbeit an der HTL Dornbirn. Weiters kam es aus Interesse eines Schülers des Franziskaner Gymnasiums Hall in Tirol zur Zusammenarbeit mit einem Entwickler und Betreiber von Aquaponic-Anlagen sowie zu umfassenden Analysen der chemischen Zusammensetzung des Wassers und in diesem Rahmen auch zu einer VWA. Dadurch erfolgte erstmals eine Annäherung an das Thema der Herkunftsbestimmung von auf flüssigen Medien kultivierten Tomaten.

Was passiert mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists?

Die Isotopenlandkarte konnte durch die Beteiligung von Citizen Scientists erweitert werden. Durch das Interesse von Betrieben und individuellen Schülerinnen und Schülern wurden auch neue Themen und Forschungsfragen in das Projekt aufgenommen und bearbeitet. So wurde zum Beispiel eine optimierte Messmethode für unterschiedlich hohe Konzentrationen von Makro- und Mikroelementen in unterschiedlichen Gemüsesorten entwickelt. Anlass dafür war das besondere Interesse des Produzenten der Sauwald Erdäpfel am Multielementfingerabdruck, da z.B. mit besonderen Kalium Gehalt geworben wird; weiters wurden Steirische Käferbohnen und Lavanttaler Spargel auf das Multielementmuster hin genauer analysiert. Daraus entstand die weiterführende Idee eines zukünftigen systematischen „Food Profilings“ als zusätzliche Information der Produzenten an die Kunden, um die spezielle Zusammensetzung und Qualität eines Lebensmittels zu vermitteln.

Die gewonnen Daten wurden und werden auch zukünftig auf Konferenzen präsentiert und in wissenschaftlichen Publikationen veröffentlicht.

Die Nachhaltigkeit des Projektes konnte durch die erfolgreiche Einbringung des IsoPROTECT-Ansatzes in das neu gegründete K1 Zentrum „FFoQSI“ („Feed and Food Quality Safety and Innovation“, https://www.ffoqsi.at/) in einem zentralen strategischen Bereich zur „Bestimmung der Herkunft und Echtheit von Lebens- und Futtermitteln“ erreicht werden.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Prof. DI Dr. Thomas Prohaska
thomas.prohaska@boku.ac.at

DI Dr. Andreas Zitek
andreas.zitek@boku.ac.at

Projektwebseite: http://isoprotect.boku.ac.at/

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter