INTER-ACT

Copyright concerns us all: Let us jointly find and develop new consensus-based solutions for a modern and fair copyright!

copyright, discussion, platform

The project overview

Area of Science: Social Sciences
Location: independent of location
Used Devices: with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: Device with browser software (PC, tablet, smartphone) and internet access
Activities of citizen scientists: sharing ideas, collecting, sorting, testing online, analysing
Suitable for: Adults
Project duration: 15.07.2017 - 30.06.2019
Time to join in: 01.02.2018 - 30.04.2019
Expenditure of time: Approx. 2h briefing; the individual expenditure of time depends on the individual proactive committment - every contribution to our project is welcome
Project website: https://www.u-g-c.at/at

Project objective

The INTER-ACT project builds upon the Sparkling Science research project "From 'User-Generated-Content' to a 'User-Generated-Copyright'” (www.u-g-c.at). The aim of INTER-ACT is to develop an experimental demonstrator for an electronic interaction and discussion platform, which enables citizens of all stakeholder groups (users, authors, publishers etc.) to participate in drafting and discussing model proposals for copyright regulations. The project follows an interdisciplinary “citizen science approach” combining legal and social sciences methodology.

Against this background, INTER-ACT pursues the following research objectives:

By opening the research process for citizens, INTER-ACT follows a participative approach for developing laws and regulations. Thereby, the project aims at extending previous legal research initiatives that proposed model laws on Intellectual Property (e.g. the WITTEM-Code). The participation of citizens will enable researchers to empirically investigate users’ perceptions of and expectations on copyright law. Furthermore, by involving citizens of all stakeholder groups in the drafting and discussion process, the model regulatory proposals will be drafted in an open, transparent, evidence- and consensus-based process and will not merely be the static end result of a one-time process, but will be dynamically adapted according to the citizens’ participation. Therefore, they will provide the legislator with a dynamic reference framework for creating modern copyright regulations on a broad social consensus. By involving citizen scientists further key objective are to strengthen the citizens’ influence in the legal discourse and, ultimately, to increase copyright awareness.

How to participate?

Citizen scientists can participate proactively in a variety of ways, depending on their knowledge, interest and time budget. The participation in the research process is enabled by an electronic interaction and discussion platform, which is developed by HTL Krems students in the school year 2017/18 as part of their diploma project. The platform will provide an open process for a consensus-based development of model copyright regulations as well as the possibility to discuss and comment on these model regulations. Citizien scientists can participate in the process of developing and discussing the model regulatory proposals and in evaluating these processes.

What happens to the contributions of citizen scientists?

All contributions of citizen scientists in the publicly accessible area of the interaction and discussion platform are part of an interactive, publicly accessible discourse and are subject of the scientific evaluation. Therefore, these contributions are of key importance for the development of model regulations, which should serve as a dynamic reference for the legislator in order to design a modern and well-balanced copyright system. The scientific evaluation builds upon the interaction with all interested citizen scientists as well as on electronic evaluation. Personal information is kept confidential in accordance with the applicable data protection regulations.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

MMag. Philipp Homar
inter-act@u-g-c.at

Project website: https://www.u-g-c.at/at

Share this Page

Newsletter

INTER-ACT

Urheberrecht geht uns alle an: Bürgerinnen und Bürger finden und entwickeln gemeinsam neue konsensorientierte Lösungen für ein modernes und faires Urheberrecht!

Urheberrecht, Diskussion, Plattform

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Sozialwissenschaften
Ort: Nicht ortsgebunden
Arbeitsweise: mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: Endgerät mit Browsersoftware (PC, Tablet, Smartphone) und Internetzugang
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: Idee einbringen, sammeln, sortieren, online testen, analysieren
Zielgruppe: Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 15.07.2017 - 31.07.2020
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 01.10.2018 - 30.04.2019
Zeitaufwand zum Mitforschen: Ca. 2 Stunden Briefing; anschließend abhängig von Eigeninitative – jeder gedankliche Beitrag und Input ist willkommen.

Projektziel

Ziel von INTER-ACT ist es, einen experimentellen Demonstrator für eine digitale Interaktions- und Diskussionsplattform zu entwickeln, die es Bürgerinnen und Bürgern aller Stakeholder-Gruppen (Nutzerinnen und Nutzern, Autorinnen und Autoren, Verlagen etc.) ermöglicht, an der Ausarbeitung und Diskussion von Modellvorschlägen für Urheberrechtsvorschriften teilzunehmen. Das Projekt folgt einem interdisziplinären Citizen Science-Ansatz, der Methoden der Rechts- und Sozialwissenschaften verbindet.

Durch die Öffnung des Forschungsprozesses für Bürgerinnen und Bürger verfolgt INTER-ACT einen partizipativen Ansatz zur Entwicklung von Gesetzen und Vorschriften. Dadurch sollen existierende urheberrechtliche Forschungsinitiativen, welche Modellgesetze vorgeschlagen haben (z.B. der WITTEM-Code), erweitert werden. Die Mitwirkung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger aller Stakeholder-Gruppen ermöglicht es den Forschenden, die Wahrnehmung und Erwartungen der Nutzenden, welche diese von dem und an das Urheberrecht haben, empirisch zu untersuchen. Darüber hinaus werden die Modellregelungen in einem offenen, transparenten, evidenz- und konsensbasierten Prozess entwickelt und stellen nicht nur das statische Endergebnis eines einmaligen Prozesses dar, sondern werden anhand der Beteiligung der Citizen Scientists dynamisch angepasst. Auf diese Weise stellen sie dem Gesetzgeber einen dynamischen Bezugsrahmen für die Schaffung moderner Urheberrechtsvorschriften zur Verfügung, welche von einem breiten gesellschaftlichen Konsens getragen werden. Die Einbeziehung von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern in den Forschungsprozess soll ferner gewährleisten, dass deren Einfluss in den gesellschafts- und rechtspolitischen Meinungsbildungsprozess gestärkt wird und das Urheberrechtsbewusstsein insgesamt erhöht wird.

Wie kann man mitforschen?

Citizen Scientists können sich in vielfältiger Form und – je nach Wissensstand, Interesse und Zeitbudget – in jedem Umfang pro-aktiv einbringen. Die Beteiligung am Forschungsprozess wird über eine elektronische Interaktions- und Diskussionsplattform ermöglicht, die im Schuljahr 2017/18 von Schülerinnen und Schülern der HTL Krems im Rahmen eines Maturaprojekts entwickelt wird. Die Plattform wird einen offenen Prozess zur konsensbasierten Entwicklung von Modellregeln für das Urheberrecht ermöglichen sowie die Möglichkeit zur Diskussion und Kommentierung dieser Modellregeln bieten. Citizien Scientists können sich an der Entwicklung von Regelungsvorschlägen, an deren Diskussion sowie an der Auswertung dieser Prozesse beteiligen.

Was passiert mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists

Sämtliche Beiträge, welche die Citizen Scientists in die öffentlich zugänglichen Bereiche der Interaktions- und Diskussions-Plattform einbringen, werden Teil eines interaktiven öffentlich zugänglichen Diskurses und fließen in die wissenschaftliche Auswertung ein. Diese Beiträge sind daher von zentraler Wichtigkeit für die offene gemeinsame Entwicklung von Modellregelungen für das Urheberrecht, die der Politik als dynamische Referenz für die Gestaltung einer modernen Urheberrechtsordnung dienen soll. Die wissenschaftliche Auswertung findet in Interaktion mit allen interessierten Citizen Scientists sowie automationsunterstützt (elektronisch) statt. Personenbezogene Informationen werden gemäß den geltenden Datenschutzbestimmungen vertraulich behandelt.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

MMag. Philipp Homar
office@inter-act.net

Projektwebseite: https://news.inter-act.net/

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter