Hedgehogs on their way

In this project scientists were looking for interested citizens to explore the distribution of hedgehogs in gardens all over Austria.

hedgehogs, gardens, animal traces

The project overview

Area of Science: Natural Sciences
Location: Austria / bordering countries
Used Devices: without PC/Mobile, with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: Camera or smartphone, computer with internet access, corrugated plastic sheet for the tracking tunnel (these plates can be borrowed from BOKU), powder paint (black), cat or dog food as bait

Activities of citizen scientists: observing, analysing, other activities
Suitable for: Youngsters and adults
Project duration: 01.12.2014 - 30.09.2016
Time to join in: 01.04.2016 - 30.09.2016
Expenditure of time: Registering and filling out the questionnaire approx. 15 min., tracking tunnel in garden: five days in a row for approx. 30 min. (starting from April because hedgehogs hibernate), final filling out of the online form approx. 5 min.

Project objective

The project aimed to find out, which factors of garden management, garden structure and the predominating land use in the surroundings were linked to the presence or absence of hedgehogs in gardens. Furthermore, the data was used as a baseline for future assessments of the status of hedgehogs in Austria.

How did citizen scientists participate

Every garden owner or person with access to a garden was able to join the project and detect hedgehogs in gardens by setting up an easy to use hedgehog tracking tunnel. It's a genius, simple and exciting method to prove the presence of nocturnal animals. Hedgehogs become attracted to the tunnel by the bait (cat food) which is laid out in the middle of the tunnel. On both sides of the bait, two strips of masking tape painted with black ink colour (not toxic) are placed. This way every visitor leaves its respective footprints on sheets of paper when leaving the tunnel.

A detailed construction manual can be found on the project website. Data entry occured via internet: after creating an account for data entry, hedgehog citizen scientists had to complete an online form on garden management and structure and were able to upload paper sheets with footprints or photographs of direct observation of hedgehogs.

What happened to the contributions of citizen scientists?

For the first time, Austrian hedgehog citizen scientists were providing data on the distribution of hedgehogs in Austrian gardens. This data was used for developing recommendations for hedgehog friendly garden management. In addition, this data was used as a baseline for future assessments of the status and occurrence of the species in Austria.

Prizes and winners

There was one prize for school classes, one for a youth group and one for a single person. The participant with the most "hedgehog points" in different gardens won. Participation was possible between April and September 2016. The best school class received 1,000 Euro for the class fund. The most dedicated person or youth group supported the project with scientific equipment or open access publication support. More information can be found on the project website.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Dr. Silvia Winter
igelimgarten@boku.ac.at

DI Kristina Plenk
igelimgarten@boku.ac.at

Project website: http://igelimgarten.boku.ac.at/

Share this Page

Newsletter

Die Igel sind los!

Im Projekt "Die Igel sind los! Punks in unseren Gärten" werden österreichweit Interessierte gesucht, die das Igelvorkommen im eigenen Garten erforschen.

Igel, Gärten, Tierspuren

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Naturwissenschaften
Ort: Österreich / angrenzende Länder
Arbeitsweise: ohne PC/Handy, mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: Kamera oder Smartphone; Computer mit Internet; Platten zum Bau der Igeltunnel (können von der BOKU ausgeliehen werden); Farbpulver; Katzenfeuchtfutter

Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: beobachten, analysieren, sonstiges
Zielgruppe: Jugendliche und Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 01.12.2014 - 30.09.2016
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 01.04.2016 - 30.09.2016
Zeitaufwand zum Mitforschen: Anmelden und Fragebogen ausfüllen ca. 15 Min.; Igeltunnel im Garten: An fünf Tagen hintereinander ca. 30 Min. (erst ab ca. Anfang April möglich, da Igel einen Winterschlaf halten); Abschließendes Ausfüllen eines Online-Formulars ca. 5 Min.

Projektziel

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts wurde untersucht, welche Faktoren bei der Gartenbewirtschaftung, der Strukturausstattung der Gärten und der Umgebungsstruktur dafür verantwortlich sind, dass sich Igel in Gärten aufhalten oder fehlen. Zusätzlich sollte eine erste österreichweite Basiserhebung als Grundlage für zukünftige Erhebungen des Igelvorkommens in Österreich dienen.

Wie konnte man mitforschen?

Jede/r mit Zugang zu einem Garten konnte durch das Aufstellen eines einfachen Igeltunnels im Garten dem Igel wortwörtlich auf die Spur kommen. Der Igeltunnel stellt eine geniale, einfache und spannende Methode dar, um nachtaktive Tiere nachzuweisen. Im Inneren des Igeltunnels befand sich eine Schüssel mit Futter, welche zwischen zwei Farbflächen (bestrichen mit ungiftiger Farbe) platziert war. Angelockt durch das Futter lief der Igel über diese Farbflächen und hinterließ seine Fußspuren auf einem Blatt Papier.

Die detaillierte Bastelanleitung ist auf der Projekthomepage verfügbar. Auf dieser Seite waren alle Citizen Scientists aufgerufen, ihre Beobachtungen in einem Erhebungsformular einzutragen und das Blatt mit den Fußabdrücken bzw. Fotos von direkten Sichtungen hochzuladen. Zusätzlich wurde mit einem kurzen Fragebogen erfasst, wie die Gärten bewirtschaftet wurden und wie sich die Igelzahlen aus Sicht der Teilnehmer/innen in den letzten Jahren in Österreich entwickelt haben.

Was passierte mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists?

Durch den Beitrag der Citizen Scientists wurden erstmals österreichweite Verbreitungsdaten über den Igel in heimischen Gärten gesammelt. Diese Ergebnisse leisteten einen Beitrag, Empfehlungen für die igelfreundliche Gartenbewirtschaftung zu entwickeln. Weiters dienten diese Daten als Basis für die künftige Beurteilung, ob Igel in Österreich gefährdet sind oder ob sie in gewissen Regionen häufiger oder seltener vorkommen.

Preise und wie Gewinner/innen ermittelt wurden

Es wurde jeweils ein Preis für eine Schulklasse, eine Jugendgruppe und eine Einzelperson für die meisten „Igel-Punkte“ - gewertet wurden alle validen Beiträge von April bis September - in unterschiedlichen Gärten vergeben. Die beste Schulklasse erhielt 1.000,- Euro für die Klassenkassa. Die engagierteste Einzelperson und Jugendgruppe unterstützten mit ihren Preisen die Forschung. Weitere Informationen befinden sich auf der Projektwebseite.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Dr. Silvia Winter
igelimgarten@boku.ac.at

DI Kristina Plenk
igelimgarten@boku.ac.at

Projektwebseite: http://igelimgarten.boku.ac.at

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter