citizenMorph

From mudflows to volcanic rocks and dolines to landslides: Citizen scientists help with research on changes in the landscape on an interactive map.

geomorphology, maps, landform changes

The project overview

Area of Science: Technology and Computer Sciences
Location: For mapping: National Park Berchtesgarden, Germany and Nature Park Weißbach, Austria
Used Devices: with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: GPS-enabled smartphone with camera and Internet access is required or a digital camera, as well as a computer with Internet access
Activities of citizen scientists: sharing ideas, observing, collecting, photographing, mapping, testing online
Suitable for: Youngsters and adults
Project duration: 01.07.2018 - 30.06.2020
Time to join in: 01.07.2018 - 30.06.2020
Expenditure of time: Filling out the questionnaire approx. 15 min, workshops (up to 1 day), observations in the field per observation approx. 5 min

Project objective

citizenMorph is a scientific project in which information on geomorphological phenomena (landforms and their changes through time) is recorded and reported by citizens in particular. For this purpose, a website and an app will be developed together with the target group, based on the participatory design approach. The app can be used by citizen scientists to collect data.

How to participate?

Everyone can participate in the project and in the mapping of landforms and their changes through time. The website and app should be easy to use for citizens in accordance with their digital skills. Especially for this reason, the cooperation with citizens is already very important during the development of the app: Citizens are involved in the various steps of the website and application development. Involvement includes workshops with user groups, student internships and usability tests, so that the app should be usable for all interested people and draw (further) interest in geomorphology and citizen science via a wide range of user groups.

For the recording of landforms especially hikers, tourists and residents of all ages are addressed who record geomorphological phenomena in designated study areas via app. The observations will be used in the evaluation and validation of remote sensing data. The period of data acquisition with the developed app will last from the beginning to mid 2020.

What happens to contributions of citizen scientists?

Basically, geomorphological phenomena and changes in the landscape can be detected using remote sensing data (e.g., satellite imagery). However, it is difficult to study these changes only on the basis of satellite imagery. For validating remote sensing data derived information, the help of local citizens is needed. For this purpose, citizens should be provided with a website and a mobile app, to support the mapping of landscape changes. The data provided by the citizens will support scientists in their work. In addition, a framework concept will be developed to determine important insights into requirements and motivation to raise the interest of the population in citizen science projects.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Share this Page

Newsletter

citizenMorph

Von Muren über Vulkangestein und Doline bis zu Erdrutschen: Citizen Scientists helfen bei der Erforschung von Veränderungen in der Landschaft.

Geomorphologie, Karten, Landschaftsveränderungen

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Technik und Informatik
Ort: Für Kartierung: Nationalpark Berchtesgarden, Deutschland und Naturpark Weißbach, Österreich
Arbeitsweise: mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: GPS-fähiges Smartphone mit Kamera und Internetzugang notwendig oder eine Digitalkamera, sowie ein Computer mit Internetzugang
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: Idee einbringen, beobachten, sammeln, fotografieren, kartieren, online testen
Zielgruppe: Jugendliche und Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 01.07.2018 - 30.06.2020
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 01.07.2018 - 30.06.2020
Zeitaufwand zum Mitforschen: Fragebogen ausfüllen ca. 15 Min.; Workshops (bis zu 1 Tag), Beobachtungen im Freiland je Beobachtung ca. 5 Min

Projektziel

citizenMorph ist ein wissenschaftliches Projekt, für das Bürgerinnen und Bürger Informationen zu geomorphologischen Phänomenen (Landformen und deren Veränderungen) erfassen und melden. Dafür wird im Projekt gemeinsam mit der Zielgruppe, in Anlehnung an den Ansatz des participatory designs, eine Webseite und eine App entwickelt, die von Interessierten zur Datenaufnahme genutzt werden kann.

Wie kann man mitforschen?

Jeder kann am Projekt und an der Kartierung von Landformen und deren Veränderungen mitwirken. Webseite und App sollen für Bürgerinnen und Bürger leicht zu nutzen sein und auf deren digitalen Kompetenzen eingehen. Genau aus diesem Grund ist  die Zusammenarbeit mit Bürgerinnen und Bürger bereits bei der Entwicklung der App sehr wichtig: Interessierte werden in die verschiedenen Schritte der Webseiten- und Applikations-Entwicklung durch Workshops mit Nutzer/innengruppen, Schüler/innenpraktika sowie durch Usability-Tests eingebunden, sodass die App für alle Citizen Scientists gut nutzbar ist und (weiteres) Interesse an Geomorphologie und Citizen Science über ein breites Spektrum an Nutzer/innengruppen wecken soll.

Für die Aufnahme von Landformen im Gelände sind insbesondere Wander/innen, Tourist/innen und Anwohner/innen jeden Alters gefragt, die in ausgewiesenen Untersuchungsgebieten mit Hilfe einer Handy-App geomorphologische Phänomene aufnehmen. Diese fließen dann in die Auswertung und Validierung von Fernerkundungsdaten ein. Der Zeitraum der Datenaufnahme wird ca.von Anfang bis Mitte 2020 dauern.

Was passiert mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists?

Grundsätzlich können mit Hilfe von Fernerkundungsdaten (z.B. Satellitenbildern) geomorphologischen Phänomene und Veränderungen in der Landschaft erkannt werden. Allerdings ist es schwer, diese Veränderungen nur anhand von Satellitenbildern zu untersuchen. Für das Überprüfen von Fernerkundungsdaten, ist die Hilfe von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern vor Ort wichtig. Hierfür sollen den Citizen Scientists eine Webseite und App zu Verfügung gestellt werden, mit der Landschaftsveränderungen leicht und ohne großen Aufwand kartiert werden können. Die durch Bürgerinnen und Bürger bereitgestellten Daten unterstützen Forschende so wesentlich bei ihrer Arbeit. Außerdem wird ein Rahmenkonzept entwickelt, welches wichtige Erkenntnisse zu Anforderungen und Motivation der Bevölkerung an Citizen Science-Projekten ermittelt.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter