Bienenstand.at

On which factors does the overwintering success of bee colonies depend? How many bees do not survive the winter’s cold?

bee, winter, colony

The project overview

Area of Science: Natural Sciences
Location: Austria
Used Devices: without PC/Mobile, with PC/Mobile
Equipment of citizen scientists: Bee colony
Activities of citizen scientists: sharing ideas, measuring, analysing
Suitable for: Adults
Project duration: 01.03.2017 - 31.05.2017
Time to join in: 01.04.2017 - 31.05.2017
Project website: http://bienenstand.at/

Project objective

25,000 beekeepers in Austria keep approximately 370,000 honeybee colonies. Each winter a different percentage of these colonies die. The researchers of the Department of Zoology of the University of Graz want to know how many colonies die, what the risk factors are and how these colony losses can be reduced.

How to participate?

Beekeepers and local and regional associations are invited to take part in the study and to contribute to the preservation of the honeybee population in Austria by providing information about how they keep their bees and the overwintering success of their bee colonies. Citizen scientists can find information about the previous results in the database www.bienenstand.at, they can make their own analyses and share them in social networks.

What happens to the contributions of citizen scientists?

The beekeepers’ contributions are analysed according to internationally established scientific standards and put at the disposal of interested persons by means of scientific publications, press releases and of course on the project website and the database. The research results contribute to new findings about winter losses of bee colonies and are to contribute to reducing future losses by means of an identification of best practice methods.

Prizes and winners

The winners of the project will be awarded prizes in kind from the University of Graz at the festive event on November 21st, 2017. The winners will be chosen by means of a tombola of all non-anonymous submissions. Moreover, experts will hold an evening presentation for the local group or district group with the highest number of submissions.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Dr. Robert Brodschneider
robert.brodschneider@uni-graz.at

Project website: http://bienenstand.at/

Share this Page

Newsletter

Bienenstand.at

Von welchen Faktoren ist der Überwinterungserfolg der Bienenvölker abhängig? Wie viele Bienen überleben die Kälte nicht?

Biene, Winter, Überwinterung

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Naturwissenschaften
Ort: Österreich
Arbeitsweise: ohne PC/Handy, mit PC/Handy
Ausstattung für Citizen Scientists: Bienenvölker
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: Idee einbringen, messen, analysieren
Zielgruppe: Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 01.03.2017 - 31.05.2017
Zeitraum zum Mitforschen: 01.04.2017 - 31.05.2017
Projektwebseite: http://bienenstand.at/

Projektziel

In Österreich werden etwa 370.000 Völker der Honigbiene von 25.000 Imkereien betreut. Jeden Winter stirbt ein unterschiedlich hoher Anteil dieser Völker ab. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher des Instituts für Zoologie der Uni Graz möchten wissen, wie viele Völker betroffen sind, welche Risikofaktoren es gibt und wie sich diese Völkerverluste reduzieren lassen.

Wie konnte man mitforschen?

Imkerinnen und Imker, Ortsvereine und Landesverbände waren eingeladen, sich an der Untersuchung zu beteiligen und mit der Übermittlung von Angaben zu ihrer Betriebsweise und des Überwinterungserfolgs ihrer Bienenvölker zum Erhalt der Honigbienenpopulation in Österreich beizutragen. Citizen Scientists konnten sich in der Datenbank auf www.bienenstand.at über die bisherigen Ergebnisse informieren, ihre eigenen Auswertungen tätigen und diese auch über soziale Netzwerke teilen.

Was passierte mit den Beiträgen der Citizen Scientists?

Die Beiträge der Imkerinnen und Imker wurden nach international etablierten wissenschaftlichen Standards ausgewertet und in Form von wissenschaftlichen Publikationen, Presseaussendungen und natürlich auf der Projektwebseite und der Datenbank allen Interessierten zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Forschungsergebnisse trugen zu neuen Erkenntnissen über die Winterverluste von Bienenvölkern bei und sollen durch Identifikation von Best-Practice Methoden helfen, die Verluste in Zukunft zu reduzieren.

Wie wurden Gewinnerinnen und GEwinner ermittelt?

Die Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner des Projekts wurden im Rahmen der Festveranstaltung am 21. November 2017 mit Sachpreisen der Uni Graz ausgezeichnet. Ermittelt wurden die diese durch eine Tombola unter allen nicht anonymen Einsendungen. Darüber hinaus erhielt jene Orts- oder Bezirksgruppe mit den meisten Einsendungen einen Vortragsabend.

Preisträger

  • Walter Puhl
  • Karl Koller
  • Adolf Lux

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Dr. Robert Brodschneider
robert.brodschneider@uni-graz.at 

Projektwebseite: http://bienenstand.at/

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter