A voice for all

Accessible survey methodology for household surveys of people with mental disabilities

Pilot project within the initiative Responsible Science

disability, survey, statistics

The project overview

Area of Science: Social Sciences
Location: Österreich
Used Devices: without PC/Mobile
Activities of citizen scientists: sharing ideas, observing, analysing
Suitable for: Youngsters and adults
Project duration: 01.06.2017 - 30.06.2018

Project objective

Data about the living situation of people with disabilities is important for political decision making processes. Moreover, it supports the concerns of the UN convention regarding the rights of people with disabilities. Such data has to rely on surveys. That is why accessibility is essential. It helps to visualise the problems of poeple with disabilities. Therefore this pilot project aims at reducing the barriers of people with learning difficulties.

Self-agents of different institutions of people with learning difficulties will participate in this project. In a first step several survey characteristics will be chosen to represent the life quality of people with disabilities. These questions will be then translated in an easily comprehensible language and reviewed together with the affected party. This will result in a questionnnaire, which will then be used in some test interviews in order to understand what kind of difficulies and possibilities can arise while interviewing persons with learning difficulties.

Based on this experience recommendations and guidelines for an accessible survey methodology for household surveys by Statistik Austria will be created. Additionally, under the guidance of the Vienna University of Economics and Business it will be examined, how the special situation of people living in these institutions can be considered in a better way in the future.

Participating and supporting institutions

Contact

Share this Page

Newsletter

Eine Stimme für alle

Barrierefreie Befragungspraxis bei Haushaltsbefragungen von Menschen mit mentaler Behinderung

Pilotprojekt im Rahmen der Initiative Responsible Science

Behinderung, Umfrage, Statistik

Das Projekt auf einen Blick

Wissenschaftsbereich: Sozialwissenschaften
Ort: Österreich
Arbeitsweise: ohne PC/Handy
Tätigkeiten der Citizen Scientists: Idee einbringen, beobachten, analysieren
Zielgruppe: Jugendliche und Erwachsene
Projektlaufzeit: 01.06.2017 - 30.06.2018

Projektziel

Daten zur Lebenssituation von Menschen mit Behinderung sind grundlegend für politische Entscheidungsprozesse und unterstützen so die Anliegen der UN-Konvention über die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderung. Da sich solche Daten häufig auf Befragungen stützen müssen, ist ein barrierefreier Zugang zu Befragungen wesentlich, um die Problemlagen von Menschen mit Behinderung sichtbar zu machen. Das wissenschaftliche Pilotprojekt zielt daher speziell darauf ab, Barrieren für Menschen mit Lernschwierigkeiten abzubauen.

An diesem Projekt sind Selbstvertreterinnen und Selbstvertreter aus Einrichtungen für Menschen mit Lernschwierigkeiten aktiv beteiligt. In einem ersten Schritt werden zum Beispiel einige Erhebungsmerkmale aus der amtlichen Statistik ausgewählt, die die Lebensqualität von Menschen mit Behinderung abbilden sollen. Diese Fragen werden in Leichte Sprache übersetzt und gemeinsam mit Betroffenen auf Ihre Relevanz geprüft. Der daraus entstehende Fragebogen wird dann in einigen Probeinterviews genutzt, um praktische Schwierigkeiten und Möglichkeiten einer Befragung bei Menschen mit Lernschwierigkeiten kennenzulernen.

Aus diesen Erfahrungen werden schließlich Empfehlungen und Richtlinien für eine barrierefreie Befragungspraxis bei Haushaltsbefragungen von Statistik Austria entwickelt. Zusätzlich wird unter der Führung der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien untersucht, wie die spezielle Situation bei Menschen die in Einrichtungen leben, in Zukunft besser berücksichtigt werden kann.

Beteiligte und unterstützende Einrichtungen

Kontakt

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter