Citizen Science & Law II

Date: 28/05/2019 14:00 - 17:00
Location: Palais Harrach, Freyung 3, 2. Stock, 1010 Vienna

Who owns a picture and what can I do with it legally?


Citizen Science thrives on the cooperation between a large number of stakeholders who bring with them a wealth of experience and know-how. By incorporating the potentials and knowledge of the participants, projects are made possible that would otherwise be inconceivable. The cooperation of different people in a research project goes hand in hand with a great responsibility with regard to data protection and compliance with legal regulations. In addition to the provisions of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), other regulations such as copyright (e.g. for the creation of texts or images) or licensing law (e.g. for the use of texts or images) must also be complied with.

In a joint event, the Center for Citizen Science, the Citizen Science Network Austria (CSNA) and the Open Science Network Austria (OANA), as well as the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research invite project leaders to inform themselves about the "rights to images", copyrights and licensing rights in citizen science projects and to discuss them together with experts.

This event is already the second event on "Citizen Science and Law". The first took place in June 2018 and dealt with the GDPR in citizen science projects. You can read the content of this event on the CSNA website or on the website of the Center for Citizen Science. A guide for citizen science projects and the GDPR can be found here: CSNA working group on legal aspects in citizen science.

Diese Veranstaltung ist bereits das zweite Event zum Thema „Citizen Science und Recht“. Das erste fand im Juni 2018 statt und behandelte die DSGVO in Citizen Science-Projekten. Den Inhalt dieser Veranstaltung können Sie auf der Webseite des CSNA oder der Webseite des Zentrums für Citizen Science nachlesen. Eine Hilfestellung für Citizen Science-Projekte und die DSGVO finden Sie unter: CSNA-Arbeitsgruppe für juristische Aspekte in CS.


The detailled prorgam (in German) can be found >> HERE <<

The registration is closed. If you would like to register, please contact citizenscience@oead.at


About the speakers

Mag. Michael Pilz | Freimüller/Obereder/Pilz Rechtsanwält_innen GmbH
Michael Pilz has been working as a lawyer since 1995. His areas of specialisation include media and copyright law as well as IT & telecommunications law. In order to raise awareness of the guidelines and risks regarding "image rights", he regularly conducts training courses, e.g. for the APA.

Dr. Joachim Losehand, M.A. | Creative Commons
Joachim Losehand has been working on the legal framework of the digital information society since 2008 and is Science Commons Lead at Creative Commons Austria. He is one of the founders of the European collecting society Cultural Commons Collecting Society (C3S) and has worked e.g. for the Association of Free Radios Austria and the project e-Infrastructures Austria.

Mag. Vanessa Hannesschläger | Austrian Academy of Sciences
Vanessa Hannesschläger is part of OANA's core team and heads its working group "Legal Aspects of Open Science". She is also a member of the European research infrastructure consortium DARIAH, where she heads the ELDAH working group (Ethics and Legality in Digital Arts and Humanities). She works at the Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and was an Open Science Fellow of Wikimedia Germany in 2017/18. In 2017 she won the Open Minds Award in the category "Female".

Go back

Share this Page

Newsletter

Citizen Science & Recht II

Datum: 28.05.2019 14:00 - 17:00
Ort: Palais Harrach, Freyung 3, 2. Stock, 1010 Wien

Wem gehört ein Bild und was darf ich rechtlich einwandfrei damit machen?

Citizen Science lebt von der Zusammenarbeit zwischen einer Vielzahl von Beteiligten, die viele Erfahrungen und unterschiedlichstes Know-how mit sich bringen. Unter Einbeziehung der Potentiale und des Wissens der Beteiligten werden Projekte ermöglicht, die sonst nicht denkbar wären. Die Zusammenarbeit von verschiedensten Personen in einem Forschungsprojekt geht mit einer großen Verantwortung in Bezug auf Datenschutz und der Einhaltung gesetzlicher Bestimmungen einher. Neben den Bestimmungen der europäischen Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO) müssen auch andere Regelungen, wie etwa Urheberrechte (z.B. bei der Erstellung von Texten oder Bildern) oder Lizenzrechte (z.B. bei der Verwendung von Texten oder Bildern) eingehalten werden.

In einer gemeinsamen Veranstaltung laden das Zentrum für Citizen Science, das Citizen Science Network Austria (CSNA) und das Open Science Network Austria (OANA), sowie das Bundesministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung Projektleiterinnen und -leiter ein, sich u.a. über die „Rechte am Bild“, Urheber- und Lizenzrechte in Citizen Science-Projekten, zu informieren und gemeinsam mit Expertinnen und Experten zu diskutieren.

Diese Veranstaltung ist bereits das zweite Event zum Thema „Citizen Science und Recht“. Das erste fand im Juni 2018 statt und behandelte die DSGVO in Citizen Science-Projekten. Den Inhalt dieser Veranstaltung können Sie auf der Webseite des CSNA oder der Webseite des Zentrums für Citizen Science nachlesen. Eine Hilfestellung für Citizen Science-Projekte und die DSGVO finden Sie unter: CSNA-Arbeitsgruppe für juristische Aspekte in CS.


Das detaillierte Programm zur Veranstaltung finden Sie  >> HIER <<.
Anmeldeschluss ist am 21. Mai 2019.


Zu den Vortragenden

Mag. Michael Pilz | Freimüller/Obereder/Pilz Rechtsanwält_innen GmbH
Michael Pilz ist seit 1995 als Rechtsanwalt tätig. Zu seinen Schwerpunkten zählen u.a. das Medien- und Urheberrecht sowie das EDV- & Telekommunikationsrecht. Um das Bewusstsein für die Richtlinien und Risiken bzgl. der Thematik „Bildrechte“ zu steigern, führt er regelmäßig Schulungen durch z.B. für die APA.

Dr. Joachim Losehand, M.A. | Creative Commons
Joachim Losehand arbeitet seit 2008 zu rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen der digitalen Informationsgesellschaft und ist Science Commons Lead bei Creative Commons Österreich. Er ist einer der Gründer der europäischen Verwertungsgesellschaft Cultural Commons Collecting Society (C3S) und arbeitet(e) u.a. für den Verband Freier Radios Österreich sowie das Projekt e-Infrastructures Austria.

Mag. Vanessa Hannesschläger | ÖAW
Vanessa Hannesschläger gehört zum Kernteam von OANA und leitet deren Arbeitsgruppe „Rechtliche Aspekte von Open Science“. Auch im europäischen Forschungsinfrastrukturkonsortium DARIAH ist sie an der Leitung der Arbeitsgruppe ELDAH (Ethics and Legality in Digital Arts and Humanities) beteiligt. Sie arbeitet am Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities der ÖAW und war 2017/18 Open Science Fellow der Wikimedia Deutschland. 2017 gewann sie den Open Minds Award in der Kategorie „Female“.  

Anmeldung zur Veranstaltung

Bis zu 90 Personen, davon sind noch 70 Plätze frei.

Anrede

 

Zurück

Teile diese Seite

Newsletter